What is Schengen?


There are currently 27 European countries in the Schengen Area, 23 of which are Member States of the European Union (below with *). These 27 countries share a common legal framework and there are no checks on the borders between them.

The countries issuing Schengen visas (“Schengen Member States”) are: Austria*, Belgium*, Bulgaria, Croatia*, Czechia*, Denmark*, Estonia*, Finland*, France*, Germany*, Greece*, Hungary*, Iceland, Italy*, Latvia*, Liechtenstein, Lithuania*, Luxembourg*, Malta*, the Netherlands*, Norway, Poland*, Portugal*, Romania, Slovakia*, Slovenia*, Spain*, Sweden* and Switzerland.


Top of page