Visa Regulations under the EU Travel Ban for the Schengen Area

18.03.2020 - Article

From 17th March 2020 on, the EU has announced a travel ban for 30 days. Therefore the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany will close its Visa Section until further notice.

Please read this information carefully. This travel ban is valid for most Nepali citizens; however there are a few exceptions:

Who can still travel despite the travel ban?

  • Citizens of a country of the EU (plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland)
  • Spouses and minor children (meaning below the age of 18 years) of citizens of a country of the EU (plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland)
  • Non-EU Citizens who hold a permanent residence permit (meaning “Aufenthaltstitel”) for Germany. Please note that a “D-Visa” holders are also still allowed to enter the Schengen area
  • Non-EU Citizens who have a severe emergency in Europe and therefore need to travel there

If you think that you are qualifying for one of these exceptions, please contact our Embassy via the contact Form.

What happens to already issued Visa?

If you have received a Visa that allows you to enter the Schengen Countries between 17.03.20 and 16.04.20 YOU CANNOT USE THIS VISA. You will not be allowed to enter the European Union.

Unfortunately, the Embassy is not able to adapt your Visa dates or to refund the Visa fee.

An only exception to this rule are Family reunion Visas!

What happens to your pending Visa-application?

If you applied for a Visa and a decision from the Embassy is still pending the following rules apply:

  • For a Family reunion Visa (meaning “Familienzusammenführung”) we will still process your application.
  • For Schengen-Visas and other long-term visas (D-Visa for Study purposes, Au Pair, Employment, Training etc.), you are requested to visit the Embassy without an appointment in order to WITHDRAW your application.

Unfortunately, it is not possible to refund any visa fees.

For the time being you are not able to schedule new appointments in order to apply for new Visas. The reopening of the Visa-Section will be announced once travel bans are eased and the decision to accept visa-applications is made.

Additional Information:

The Heads of State or Government of the Schengen Member States together with their counterparts of the Schengen Associated States accepted the recommendation of the Commission to apply a temporary restriction of non-essential travel from third countries into the EU+ area for 30 days.

Yesterday evening, Federal Minister Seehofer issued an order to that effect with immediate effect in accordance with Article 14, 6 of the Schengen Border Code.

The temporary travel restriction should apply to all non-essential travel from third countries to the EU+ area.

The temporary travel restriction must exempt nationals of all EU Member States and Schengen Associated States, for the purposes of returning to their homes.

This exemption must apply to:

  1. all EU citizens and citizens of the Schengen Associated States, and their family members;
  2. third-country nationals who are long-term residents under the Long-term Residence Directive and persons deriving their right to reside from other EU Directives or national law or who hold national long-term visas.
  3. It should also not apply to other travellers with an essential function or need, including:
  • Healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals;
  • Frontier workers;
  • Transport personnel engaged in haulage of goods and other transport staff to the extent necessary;
  • Diplomats, staff of international organisations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers in the exercise of their functions;
  • Passengers in transit;
  • Passengers travelling for imperative family reasons;
  • Persons in need of international protection or for other humanitarian reasons.
  • Coordinated and reinforced health checks should be carried out for the individuals allowed to enter the EU+ area.

Top of page